Welcome to the Olga Masters Short Story Award

The Olga Masters Short Story Award is a competition celebrating the life and writings of Olga Masters (1919-1986), Australian journalist and author. Olga was born on the Far South Coast of NSW, and lived there, in Pambula then Cobargo, until the age of 18. Much of her fiction is coloured by her experiences in this region.

This year’s competition is now closed. Thanks to everyone who entered.

The winners will be announced in the first week of December and the winning story will be published in Island magazine.

This year’s judges are:

  • Geordie Williamson, publisher of the Picador imprint
  • D’Arcy Randall, long-time editor of Olga Masters’ work
  • Craig Munro, award-winning writer, editor and publishing consultant, and Olga Masters’ first publisher in Australia.

The inaugural Award was held in conjunction with the Olga Masters Festival in Cobargo in October 2014. Read all winning stories.

Thanks to The Triangle, our local community newspaper, for auspicing the Award, and to Well Thumbed Books in Cobargo for providing a physical space to administer the Award – and a postal address.

masthead ppl mountain stars triangle 250px

And we are greatly indebted to Bokhara Foundation and the
Masters family for their financial support.




Australian rural family life